The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: BENCH TESTING MOTORS  (Read 4775 times)

Offline oldmoley

BENCH TESTING MOTORS
« on: February 21, 2016, 06:31:27 pm »
My apologies if I've placed this in the wrong section; admins, please feel free to move if I have. I'm not a qualified electrician and as such, have a VERY healthy respect for mains power! With this in mind, can anyone recommend an effective and safe method of bench testing Dyson motors please? I assume that this can best be achieved by hooking up to a bench power supply, or a Variac, but I'm keen to get things right, and not blow either myself, or the motors up in the process. Any advice on the kit I might need, and the safest method of connection, would be much appreciated.

Offline RustySkull

• Kirby, Royal, Sebo =)
    • RustySkull Productions YouTube
Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 06:39:40 pm »
Hmm, probably not correct but I have two methods I have used, one is just get a wire with a plug on the end, and bare wires on the other, attach them to the terminals on the motor and switch it on at the socket.

The other is I have a bench PSU, 12V-240V capable up to 3,000W. I do the same method but attach the wires into the PSU, have a switch on that wire and just attach the wires to the terminals on the Motor.

Not had any issues yet, but I'm not stupid enough to touch the wires while it's live lol. I did how ever get a full shock from a Generator in the summer, Couldn't use my legs for about 2 minutes... It was because the heater I was load testing the Generator with was faulty, and I never grounded the Generator lol.
If You Like Machines, Radios and Cars As Well As Vacuum Cleaners Then Check Out The Official RustySkull Productions YouTube!
>>>>>>RustySkull Productions YouTube!<<<<<< >>>>>Twitter<<<<<>>>>>Instagram<<<<<

Offline Parwaz7862

• Dyson geek 😃
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2016, 07:42:41 pm »