The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: Sending a British DC01 to the USA  (Read 18739 times)

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #30 on: December 13, 2016, 02:41:34 PM »
I had considered this, it's what the man I bought my dc02 from had done. The outlet is for electric clothes dryers, which is my problem because ours is practically inaccessible. It isn't near any rugs either!  I may still do that as transformers are  :o

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #31 on: December 13, 2016, 03:09:48 PM »
big long extension lead  :thumbsup:

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #32 on: December 13, 2016, 03:12:07 PM »
Going to be one hell of a lead

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #33 on: December 13, 2016, 03:13:50 PM »
semi permanent into the living room etc :whist11:

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #34 on: December 13, 2016, 03:15:07 PM »
Always fancied fitting a 12v and 5v dc supply in the house.

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #35 on: December 13, 2016, 03:16:11 PM »
semi permanent into the living room etc :whist11:

Will the dc01's performance be that amazing?  :))

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #36 on: December 13, 2016, 03:20:09 PM »
its not bad, just a thought, our supply is 50hz your 110 is 60hz what is your 220? and what is the 4th prong for?

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #37 on: December 13, 2016, 03:30:07 PM »
I looked it up and apparently we have 2 live wires for some reason, then a neutral and a ground. And I think our 220v is 60Hz

Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6104
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs - The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #38 on: December 13, 2016, 03:30:55 PM »
its not bad, just a thought, our supply is 50hz your 110 is 60hz what is your 220? and what is the 4th prong for?

As I recall, one is earth, one is neutral, one is 120v and one is 220v. Don't ask me why the 120 is there though as I have no idea. One of our pals over the pond will clarify I am sure.

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #39 on: December 13, 2016, 03:32:15 PM »
Afraid I'm not very experienced with 220v outlets   :boggleeye:

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #40 on: December 13, 2016, 03:33:52 PM »
I'm just wondering if the motor will be ok at 60hz?  Seems daft having 2 voltages but then most stuff now runs at much lower dc so why not supply that direct to home?

Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6104
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs - The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #41 on: December 13, 2016, 03:35:23 PM »
The 50 and 60 Hz may be an issue. I was just Googling..........

Quote
50Hz motor will run 20% faster on 60Hz power supply
AC motor kilowatt is proportional to Torque times RPM. As the motor's torque is not going to change significantly with the increase of frequency, it will now output 20% more power. A 10kW 50Hz motor will be a 12kW motor on 60Hz power source.

Making a 20 year old YDK DC01 motor run 20% faster? An Ametek maybe as they are built like the Ark Royal, but I am not fancying the chances of a YDK running very long.  :snivel:

Sounds like a frequency converter may be needed. Not to mention a UK socket wired the right way from the outlet plug with the live through the fuse.

I could have put a UK socket in there as well if we'd have had this discussion a few days ago.

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #42 on: December 13, 2016, 03:37:16 PM »
I know the man I bought the dc02 from had a number of other British dysons and regularly ran them at half speed on a 120v 60hz line, and he's never had a problem. This is one reason however that I would feel a bit better with a proper transformer, don't want the house to get filled with dc01 smoke.

Offline Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2924
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #43 on: December 13, 2016, 03:39:12 PM »
In that case I would bite the bullet and get a transformer better safe than sorry.

Online dysondc16

  • Member
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Sending a British DC01 to the USA
« Reply #44 on: December 13, 2016, 03:42:08 PM »
Yep looks like I'll need a transformer  :(
The one I was looking at can output 220v at 50 or 60 hz apparently

DC01 Spare Parts


 

 

Trade Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

Buy a police truncheon

 

 

Instagram

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacs on Instagram