The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC14 has faulty something  (Read 312 times)

Online cunundrum

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: scotland
DC14 has faulty something
« on: December 06, 2018, 05:58:21 PM »
When I am using cleaner it stalls and restarts (switches off and on) as it's being pushed and pulled across carpet >:( I've installed new switch but fault still there. Any ideas, guys?

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2857
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2018, 09:48:14 PM »
Brake in the cable to the switch, or from switch to motor.

Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5143
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2018, 10:00:31 PM »
Mains lead possibly. It wants meter testing really. It's almost never the switch on a Dyson.

Online cunundrum

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2018, 10:53:46 PM »
 Dusted off meter and checked continuity of the "in-coming" mains cable. Live is good from plug through switch (switch working fine too). Neutral, checked from plug (N) to spade terminal at end of mains cable (separated spade terminals inside small black, hinged "box"). Nothing, no continuity
Electrical things are a bit of a black art to me and this is where my knowledge lets me down. Does this mean a problem in the neutral side of this cable or have I just not understood the circuit?

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2857
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2018, 11:12:38 PM »
Neutral wire has a brake, it is usually where it enters the machine, or just where it comes out of the plug. you can most of the time just cut the cable shorter (or replace plug) or if you cant fit new terminals get a new cable.

Online ryevac

  • Member
  • Posts: 304
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Trev - not my choice of name - i was given it....
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2018, 11:23:25 PM »
Yes sounds like open circuit on the neutral, cut off the cable at entry point, around 7 inches then check again with meter.
If still open circuit then it could be a break in the plug end of the cable.
If so cut off 7 inches and recheck continuity, if ok fit a quality 13a plug.  If not then the break could be further down the cable so just fit a new one.
Generally, when tracing a cable fault, just keep the probes on either end of the cable in question with crocodile clips and then wiggle the cable till you see the meter reading correctly if its intermittent.

The other method, is using an oscilloscope, high speed schmitt trigger pulse fired down the cable - measure with scope and on the trace you will see a little spiked peak, that will visually tell you where the break in the cable is roughly - ok for finding a break on a 100ft cable on an aircraft, but really not practical for a hoover  ;D
If it was assembled it can be disassembled - if we can't repair it then it probably isn't worth repairing !

Online cunundrum

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2018, 11:31:58 PM »
I fancy using the High Speed Schmitt Trigger (if I knew what it was). Or is this just a load of tech bollocks   ;D

Online ryevac

  • Member
  • Posts: 304
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Trev - not my choice of name - i was given it....
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2018, 11:50:35 PM »
It's an olld 74ls14 ttl chip configured with one of it's outputs fed to imputs so it oscillates if i remember right.
Used by the raf many years ago, (Time domain reflectometery ) sorry just been geeky... i attended a lecture in the 90's, a guy called dave smith did the presentation and was very interesting

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Time-domain_reflectometer
If it was assembled it can be disassembled - if we can't repair it then it probably isn't worth repairing !

Online cunundrum

  • Member
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2018, 11:52:06 AM »
Not geeky. I could see its application for fibre optic cables in ducting under the street, in fact any cables!!
Talking of cables: fired up cleaner, back and forward - no problem. Typical. Waggled cable about until cleaner cut out. This time so did the ring main! Cut cable as suggested and tested for continuity. No signal from neutral so assumed break to be somewhere in main length of cable. Ordered new cable from manchester.
Thanks guys and here's hoping!!

Online ryevac

  • Member
  • Posts: 304
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Trev - not my choice of name - i was given it....
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2018, 02:09:11 AM »
new cable should sort it and last another 15 years... ;D
If it was assembled it can be disassembled - if we can't repair it then it probably isn't worth repairing !

Online beko1987

  • Member
  • Posts: 4289
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Let's take it apart!
    • My blog
Re: DC14 has faulty something
« Reply #10 on: Today at 02:05:08 AM »
It's VERY similar to the DC07 cable change

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAJePCxHLmg" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAJePCxHLmg</a>

Mind you get a cable with the cord exit guide and crimps already fitted if your not too confident about doing that yourself, plus you'd need to buy a crimper and many crimps to do the job which you would have lying around forever more!

Sure Mvacs could sort you out a plug and play cable for happy money!
Collector and restorer of vintage vacuums, Dyson Appreciator! Come and see my blog, where I am uploading all my mountains of brochures, manuals and other vacuum cleaner paperwork, and also my youtube channel @beko1987!

DC14 Spare Parts


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram