The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar  (Read 254 times)

Offline Trev-b

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« on: May 16, 2019, 03:28:43 PM »
Hi, hopefully this won't be too hard to answer but I have a Dyson V6 cordless that the brush bar suddenly stopped working, I cleaned the head, still didn't work, i tested for DC voltage at the bin contacts to find nothing, stripped the unit and tested at the outlet connections from the pcb to the bin contacts, still nothing, ordered a new head which arrived, fitted the new head and the brush bar still doesn't spin, tested the contacts of the new head to find no voltage again. I didn't test it prior to putting the brush bar on to operate, could there be something wrong with the brush bar that is blowing the pcb or could it be a faulty unit?


Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5345
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2019, 04:13:04 PM »
Its unclear from how you have written it, did you test the power to the bin from the min body? When you say PCB, which one do you mean? 

Offline TV Man

  • Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2019, 05:34:21 PM »
Hi Trev

I had similar recently remove extention tube and place the probes of your meter in to the socket on the front of bin set meter to DC volts depress trigger you should get around .001 of a volt or similar.
you wont get the full voltage reading as the control pcb has to get feedback from the brush head or load.

Did you say you purchased new brush head or new bin or new main body im like MV dont fully follow your write up.

Offline Trev-b

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2019, 11:00:57 PM »
Hi,
I removed the bin and cyclone and tested the two contacts at the front of the head, (the ones that contact on the rim of the bin when it's in place), that's where I can't get any voltage when the trigger is pressed.
The pcb I referred to is the one on the back of the motor in the head.


Offline TV Man

  • Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2019, 06:51:30 PM »
Ok

So what is the item you have replaced ?

Offline Trev-b

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2019, 11:49:42 PM »
I replaced the main body with the motor in it thinking there is a problem with the pcb supplying voltage to the bin contacts

Offline TV Man

  • Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2019, 03:24:04 PM »
Hi Trev I think your problem is in the brush head strip it down completely check for hair wrapped around bearings etc. if you can try powering up the motor from a DC source even 12v dc at a couple of amps will make the motor turn if you can do this ensure brush roller and belt are disconected from the motor.
Just thought clean the metal pads at the back of bin and test continuity from each pad to front bin socket and floor tool plug to motor.

Offline Trev-b

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2019, 02:04:03 PM »
Hi,
Thanks for your advice, I checked the contacts for continuity from the bin contacts down to the pins at the bottom of the tube while it's in place, these checked out ok, stripped down the head itself and after a lot of screws and bits later found that the white wire going to the motor was broken and only held together by the insulation. After a bit of fiddly soldering and a some heat shrink plastic it's now working again, (for now), many thanks for all your help, it just goes to show that every day is a school day, all the best  :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Offline TV Man

  • Member
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V6 no outlet voltage to brush bar
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2019, 07:38:07 PM »
Nice one Trev  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram