The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.  (Read 568 times)

Offline nevillet

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Hi All,
I have completely stripped down my Dyson V10 handheld and removed all traces of detritus from inside the internal parts of the machine. I have purchased a new filter but the machine just pulses on/off when the power button is depressed. Moving the power level switch on the top of the machine between high/medium/low does not alter this behaviour.

Can anyone help me?


Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2022, 09:48:43 AM »
Which warning light comes on-the blockage light, or the filter light?
My experience with these is that the dirt sensor is over-sensitive and once activated, it can be cleaned, but will reactivate within a few months.
You don't say exactly how you cleaned it internally, but I've found that, because of the wiring that runs through the cyclone unit, the only way to clean it is with a can of compressed air, which is never going to be as effective as a hot wash.
This, along with the weak trigger mechanism, means that I do not recommend the V10 or V11.

Offline nevillet

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2022, 11:40:59 AM »
Hi,

Thanks for your reply. 
I have stripped everything down to its bare componants and cleaned everything using a compressed air line. 
It only had dry dry dust and had no evidence of damp/moisture inside.
After reassembly, when the power button is depressed, the battery light (2 bars) comes on for as long as the button is pushed.
The filter light does not light.

and the motor pulses...

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2022, 12:10:06 PM »
Then I think you have done everything you can do. Is it still under warranty perhaps?


Offline nevillet

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2022, 12:31:21 PM »
Thanks Macman,

So Is it the motor assembly that needs to be replaced or the battery?  Both are available for about 60 each.

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2022, 01:22:42 PM »
It's pulsing to tell you that the airflow is restricted (or the sensor thinks it is). There's no battery fault from what you have said. So a new motor unit is the only certain cure. First call Dyson with your s/n  and report the fault, and they may well send you a new motor unit FOC. Obviously, do not say that you have stripped it and cleaned it, because that will have invalidated any remaining warranty.
They must have supplied many thousands of motor units under warranty, so it's always worth trying before you pay out yourself.

Offline nevillet

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2022, 02:17:22 PM »
It's well out of warrenty so don't think I have any chance of a free swap. 

I'm looking at the front side of the control PCB where the battery connections are screwed on.

I can only see one side of the PCB and assume that the air pressure sensor would be on the reverse side.

There must also be a Hall sensor to read that the filter is in place.


Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Dyson V10 pulsing after being stripped down and new filter fitted.
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2022, 03:00:15 PM »
I don't know exactly where the sensor is, but as you say, logically it must be in the airflow on the upstream side.
I have known Dyson provide replacement motor units even when out of warranty on these, because it's such a common fault. You have nothing to lose by trying for the sake of a phone call.

 

Trade Dyson Spare Parts

Dyson Spare Parts

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

Buy a police truncheon

Instagram

Dyson Spares, Parts, AdviceFollow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacs on Instagram

Registration