Dyson & Sebo Vacuum Cleaner Repair & Advice Forums

Dyson Advice => Dyson Chat => Topic started by: oldmoley on February 21, 2016, 08:31:27 PM

Title: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: oldmoley on February 21, 2016, 08:31:27 PM
My apologies if I've placed this in the wrong section; admins, please feel free to move if I have. I'm not a qualified electrician and as such, have a VERY healthy respect for mains power! With this in mind, can anyone recommend an effective and safe method of bench testing Dyson motors please? I assume that this can best be achieved by hooking up to a bench power supply, or a Variac, but I'm keen to get things right, and not blow either myself, or the motors up in the process. Any advice on the kit I might need, and the safest method of connection, would be much appreciated.
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: RustySkull on February 21, 2016, 08:39:40 PM
Hmm, probably not correct but I have two methods I have used, one is just get a wire with a plug on the end, and bare wires on the other, attach them to the terminals on the motor and switch it on at the socket.

The other is I have a bench PSU, 12V-240V capable up to 3,000W. I do the same method but attach the wires into the PSU, have a switch on that wire and just attach the wires to the terminals on the Motor.

Not had any issues yet, but I'm not stupid enough to touch the wires while it's live lol. I did how ever get a full shock from a Generator in the summer, Couldn't use my legs for about 2 minutes... It was because the heater I was load testing the Generator with was faulty, and I never grounded the Generator lol.
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: Parwaz7862 on February 21, 2016, 09:42:41 PM
I would do it Rustyskull's way, with the motor connected to the mains cable and switched on at the socket, but Dyson motors are pretty powerful so they will jump once switched on. I would surround it by a few bricks so it won't jump once switched on, or maybe even held by a vice
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: RustySkull on February 21, 2016, 09:44:25 PM
Well I thought that was common sense lol, I put a towel on the vice and use that, or if I'm somewhere that hasn't got a Vice, a lump of wood, or anything to hold it steady works fine.
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: Parwaz7862 on February 21, 2016, 09:50:43 PM
What he said ^ :thumbsup: Rusty ;D
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: Madrat on February 21, 2016, 09:59:17 PM
Quote
one is just get a wire with a plug on the end, and bare wires on the other, attach them to the terminals on the motor and switch it on at the socket.

Thats how I do it, with the motor hafe in a motor bucket wedged up a corner with my foot. 
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: RustySkull on February 21, 2016, 10:08:42 PM
Sorted ;)
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: Dyson2000 on March 19, 2016, 10:07:45 PM
The way that I do it, Stick it into a vice for something to keep it still, recommend a good heavy duty one!, run about a million feet way from it and plug it in. that's what i do  :thumbsup:
Title: Re: BENCH TESTING MOTORS
Post by: RustySkull on March 19, 2016, 10:28:22 PM
What's the worst that can happen... You die... But by then you won't know so what you don't know can't hurt you.