Dyson & Sebo Vacuum Cleaner Repair & Advice Forums

Dyson Models => Cylinder & Canister Dysons => Topic started by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 02:27:11 PM

Title: DC05 stop starting
Post by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 02:27:11 PM
So, a friend gave me there old DC05 because it was stopping and starting intermittently and they knew I like to problem solve.

I have cut some of the power cord and put a new plug on. Still the same problem. I have cleaned out the filters and got rid of hair from the cyclone.

After investigation on various sites I have discovered that it might be the thermocouple, which would make sense if it is overheating. On a DC05 where is the thermocouple and how dangerous would it be to bypass it? Also, if I pick up a new motor on ebay will that include the thermocouple, as one person I read changed their motor but still had the same issue.

many thanks
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Madrat on April 01, 2016, 03:14:10 PM
It could be the cable on the inside of the cable rewind, can be fixed and there are a few threads showing how to.  Don't bypass tco, its easy to replace.  I had a dc19 that had a lose connection on the inside of the motor so when it started to warm up the contact would lift. Simple fix remove tco bend internal contacts down and refit.
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 01, 2016, 03:25:11 PM
Yes you can get motors with a thermal cut out fitted. Some cheap ones don't have them and it's easy to tell because there's a white thing with a block which is a thermal cut out.

As Madrat mentioned, the cable rewind could be the fault, the constant tugging of the wire causes stress on he internal wiring and eventually so it works intermittently or completely dies

If the problem still persists, new motor. They are really easy to fit and really assemble the machine.
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Madrat on April 01, 2016, 03:27:33 PM
Sorry Parwaz but even the motors that look like thy dont have a tco have them but they are internal not external.
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 03:58:18 PM
Thanks for advice so far. Madrat, are you suggesting I completely change the power lead? From your How to, it looks a bit of a pain. I have left the DC05 running with the cable pulled out to fullest extension and it switches itself off and on after about four minutes of operation without me moving it at all.
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Madrat on April 01, 2016, 05:44:29 PM
It could be the cable, but I would think from your test that it is a faulty tco or it's motor connection,  try attaching a length of cable to the motor, if this stops the problem you know its the cable if it dosn't then you know the cable is OK
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 07:34:21 PM
This is the motor. Am I looking at the thermocouple?
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 01, 2016, 07:36:49 PM
Oh that's good :)

PS yes that is the thermal cut out
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 07:37:57 PM
Soooo, how do I bypass it? ;)
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: jerrardm on April 01, 2016, 08:18:00 PM
Figured out how to do it. Reassembled it and it is working fine. I will buy another motor.

the only downside is the cable retract has stopped working properly.  :snivel:
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: Madrat on April 01, 2016, 11:23:08 PM
you don't need another motor just the thermal cut out, look on ebay.  I'm not sure if that's a ydk or Panasonic motor, if its a Panasonic you wont find a new one.
Title: Re: DC05 stop starting
Post by: MVacs on April 01, 2016, 11:31:41 PM
I will buy another motor.

3.50 inc UK delivery will get you a previously enjoyed TOC if you need a link?  ;D