Dyson & Sebo Vacuum Cleaner Repair & Advice Forums

Dyson Models => Dyson DC07 => Topic started by: dragoncurt on April 13, 2016, 03:48:06 AM

Title: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 13, 2016, 03:48:06 AM
Hi people. I have a DC07 since last year, won it on Ebay. So recently it was making some weird noises. So I got a motor replacement from Ebay. I did not check to see if it was any other problem which I now believe was the brush bar. I did however change the motor anyway from the original one from an Ebay one. I did get a cheap one which is coming on to the question. Does it matter that I brought a cheap one or should I have got a orignal Dyson one. Thanks

The suction is shockingly amazing, know wonder this is one of the most best air watts any dyson has been.

Thanks and I just created an account on here. Looks like a great Dyson forum.   ;)
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 13, 2016, 03:50:27 AM
This is the link which one I got.   http://ebay.eu/22sXcc6
 


Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: MVacs on April 13, 2016, 08:18:20 AM
That is a budget motor. If it works, it works. For now. I'd keep the old one handy if I were you.

This pretty much covers it: Cheap Dyson Motors - 150 Reasons Not to Buy One (http://dysonmedic.co.uk/cheap-replacement-dyson-motor/)
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 13, 2016, 09:04:47 PM
Oh okay then. Thank you. After all the motor is the main thing which makes it all work (Cyclone is great also) I also had some issues with the switch getting put back together. Is there any picture I could see. Thanks. I love the DC07.  ;)
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 14, 2016, 01:25:36 AM
That is a budget motor. If it works, it works. For now. I'd keep the old one handy if I were you.

This pretty much covers it: Cheap Dyson Motors - 150 Reasons Not to Buy One (http://dysonmedic.co.uk/cheap-replacement-dyson-motor/)

Also I have a spare DC04 lime . Would that motor work on a DC07 but maybe less suction ?

Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 02:20:01 AM
I once tried fitting a DC04 silver lime model moor into a DC07 and it wouldn't fit, the motor is not big enough unfortunately
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 14, 2016, 07:21:47 PM
I once tried fitting a DC04 silver lime model moor into a DC07 and it wouldn't fit, the motor is not big enough unfortunately

I okay, thanks for telling me. Also I may have to put the original DC07 motor in as this replacement one is good but is loud. Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 08:49:20 PM
IMHO DC07 motors are more powerful than DC04 ones, DC07's use the same motor as a DC14 and DC33 too

The DC04 looks similar but I once swapped a DC04 motor (clutched  YDK) into a Dc07 because they fit  and the DC07 origin I fitted it into sounded a bit quieter and worked well, but has a bit less suction

The Dc04 has slightly more suction with a Dc07 motor but was higher pitched too
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 14, 2016, 09:46:24 PM
IMHO DC07 motors are more powerful than DC04 ones, DC07's use the same motor as a DC14 and DC33 too

The DC04 looks similar but I once swapped a DC04 motor (clutched  YDK) into a Dc07 because they fit  and the DC07 origin I fitted it into sounded a bit quieter and worked well, but has a bit less suction

The Dc04 has slightly more suction with a Dc07 motor but was higher pitched too

Did not know you could put it in the DC33 as well. Are they just as easier to change as the DC07 is ?

Oh at least it makes it quieter then and you do have better cyclonic technology on it.  Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 10:26:26 PM
No problem  ;)
A motor change on the Dc07 and DC33 is pretty much the same but the switch housings and plastic parts mainly around the top of the vacuum are the difference between a DC07 and a DC33
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Madrat on April 14, 2016, 11:04:54 PM
Switch on a dc33 is much easier than a dc07, o7 can be a real pig at times.
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 11:37:47 PM
Definitely!

DC33 switch falls off by gravity once unscrewed ;D

DC07 one needs un clipping with a flatblade shoved in different parts gently and sometimes you worry it might have snapped but it hasn't! :o

DC14 is in between, I quite like that. 2 screws and 2 nice clips sort of like a DC25
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 14, 2016, 11:40:03 PM
Definitely!

DC33 switch falls off by gravity once unscrewed ;D

DC07 one needs un clipping with a flatblade shoved in different parts gently and sometimes you worry it might have snapped but it hasn't! :o

DC14 is in between, I quite like that. 2 screws and 2 nice clips sort of like a DC25

Oh aha I've had to buy a switch for my DC07 as it broke yesterday. Could you upload a picture of how it is supposed to be connected. I got it working it is just the other images on google look different than mine. (Did get this from Ebay though)

Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 11:43:01 PM
You're welcome mate  :thumbsup:

Sadly I don't have a picture, but I can explain how it goes :)

connect the two live (brown) wires with female connectors to the switch and the switch goes into it's slot with the metal pins being closer to the back than at the front so it fits better with the cover on.

The blue wires connect together and get tucked in on the left hand side, right next to the switch inside a groove

Also here's a tip: Press the switch on so the switch is smaller, it makes it easier to re fit the switch cover and you should hear a click or two. Then screw it up and job done!
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 14, 2016, 11:45:52 PM
Sadly I don't have a picture, but I can explain how it goes :)

connect the two live (brown) wires with female connectors to the switch and the switch goes into it's slot with the metal pins being closer to the back than at the front so it fits better with the cover on.

The blue wires connect together and get tucked in on the left hand side, right next to the switch inside a groove

Also here's a tip: Press the switch on so the switch is smaller, it makes it easier to re fit the switch cover and you should hear a click or two. Then screw it up and job done!


Oh okay then thanks, would you mind me putting a picture up here tomorrow to show you then. Thanks and I will follow your method. Thanks  :)
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 14, 2016, 11:59:28 PM
You should be fine :)

Her'e an espares YouTube video, it's exactly the same with any Dc07 but their switch is half missing lol, the wiring set up it the same and it's a good video, much better than a pic I would say lol
Hope this helps

Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 15, 2016, 12:10:41 AM
You should be fine :)

Her'e an espares YouTube video, it's exactly the same with any Dc07 but their switch is half missing lol, the wiring set up it the same and it's a good video, much better than a pic I would say lol
Hope this helps


Thanks, I watched it but mine does not have that thing at the bottom left hand corner after she takes the switch cover off. Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 15, 2016, 12:23:13 AM
It should do, all Dc07's have the same layout. Do you have a pic?
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 15, 2016, 12:39:23 AM
It should do, all Dc07's have the same layout. Do you have a pic?

Oh I could do tomorrow as it is at my sisters house at the moment. Would you mind me putting it on here tomorrow. Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 15, 2016, 12:40:49 AM
No problem
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 16, 2016, 05:51:31 PM
No problem

Sorry about the wait. I have got them now.
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 16, 2016, 05:55:50 PM
No problem

Here is a link

http://imgur.com/a/RbiaG


Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 16, 2016, 07:05:38 PM
The blue wires should be on the side instead of under the switch. The video I shared earlier should be good for you to copy the way they explain in the video ;) Hope it helps
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: beko1987 on April 18, 2016, 12:28:03 AM
I have to say I never care what motor a Dyson has in as long as it works and runs well!
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 18, 2016, 12:57:43 AM
lucky you, I discovered my DC14 has a samsung motor :'( WHY
IT sounds like an argos upright vacuum but with a low hum
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: dragoncurt on April 18, 2016, 03:52:01 AM
The blue wires should be on the side instead of under the switch. The video I shared earlier should be good for you to copy the way they explain in the video ;) Hope it helps

Would you mind me taking a picture later. Thanks
Title: Re: DCO7 Motor Replacement Question
Post by: Parwaz7862 on April 18, 2016, 03:10:12 PM
Like I mentioned it's exactly the same as in the video, follow it and it's the best way and easiest way to do :thumbsup: