The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC05 Motorhead  (Read 4069 times)

Offline Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 251
  • Country: gb
DC05 Motorhead
« on: December 24, 2013, 12:37:58 PM »
I recently bought a job lot of 05/08 heads. There were 3 05 motorheads and I hadn't an 05 motorhead to test them with. So, I luckily got one off gumtree. Obviously there are electrical connections on the handle, wand and head but nothing from the body. Can someone advise me what's missing?  :'(

Ta!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2013, 05:54:05 PM »
Can you post up a photo?

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 470
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2013, 07:11:57 PM »
I recently bought a job lot of 05/08 heads. There were 3 05 motorheads and I hadn't an 05 motorhead to test them with. So, I luckily got one off gumtree. Obviously there are electrical connections on the handle, wand and head but nothing from the body. Can someone advise me what's missing?  :'(

Ta!

The cable runs through the hose if I remember correctly and this connects to the body where the hose attaches on the bracket/bumper.

Does that help?


Offline Vacuum Cleaner House

  • Member
  • Posts: 276
  • Country: za
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2013, 09:42:56 PM »
The wires run through the hose, to a connector that plugs on the hose retainer on the machine. The part can often be a cause of concern is the switch on the handle. They wear down after years of use.

Strangely as this model was never sold in SA we see fair amount of them in our shop. Mostly for services. The customers who own these love them to bits. I have one too but dropped something ontop of it and destroyed the cyclone top. I am waiting for a nice original colour one to replace it
Owner of Vacuum Cleaner House, Full service vacuum shop in Cape Town South Africa

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2013, 02:10:27 PM »
I am waiting for a nice original colour one to replace it

We have some brand new ones of those.  ;)

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 470
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2013, 11:36:49 PM »
The wires run through the hose, to a connector that plugs on the hose retainer on the machine. The part can often be a cause of concern is the switch on the handle. They wear down after years of use.

Strangely as this model was never sold in SA we see fair amount of them in our shop. Mostly for services. The customers who own these love them to bits. I have one too but dropped something ontop of it and destroyed the cyclone top. I am waiting for a nice original colour one to replace it

I must admit I've always liked the motorhead DC05's when I've had them!

Yep it's the sliding switch in the handle that goes and gives off a nice burning smell - the last one I had, had the same problem so I did a bit of detective work and tracked down a/the company that makes the switch and requested a free sample - changed and voila sorted ;D

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2013, 11:30:41 AM »
They modified the housing around the switch a while back and made an attempt at a recall.

We've a great big box of the cuff things.

Edit:Here: https://manchestervacs.co.uk/DysonForum/index.php/topic,981.msg3735.html#msg3735

Offline Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 251
  • Country: gb
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2013, 07:50:40 PM »
OK, I've given up on this project. I have 4 DC05 Motorheads (untested because I've nothing to test them with!) , 1 wand, 1 handle and 2 bodies (both motors dead). There aren't any wires in the hose and neither body seems to have any electrical attachments for the motorhead wiring.
I'm open to offers! Looks like I got stuffed here but it would be nice to get a few pennies back for a mistake if someone could make use of them.

PS. They don't start playing Overkill or Ace of Spades when you plug them in either!!!

Offline Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 251
  • Country: gb
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2013, 07:52:21 PM »
Sorry. Just to add, one of the cyclone tops is bust.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2013, 10:21:33 PM »
Do they have YDK motors in? We are short of YDK motor housings.

Offline brett83

  • Member
  • Posts: 62
Re: DC05 Motorhead
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2014, 12:46:09 PM »
I've got a Dyson DC05 motor head and the brush in the motor head attachment doesn't go around.  Its a new motor head attachment which i have just bought and i've double checked the motor inside, which looks good.    The switch on the handle turns the power on the dyson on/off ok, but does this some how control the motor as well i'm wondering if this could be the fault ?

Thanks

Dyson Cylinder Spare Parts


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram