The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC25 BRUSH BAR  (Read 3578 times)

Offline spikey1509

  • Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
DC25 BRUSH BAR
« on: March 18, 2014, 03:00:05 PM »
Hi All,

     I'm in the process of refurbishing a DC25 Animal, the problem I have is that I have replaced all the components in the brush bar housing and the 2 main control switches. But, I still can't get the brush bar working!.. :'( :'(

I've tried pressing the brush bar rest switch, with no effect. I'm guessing the reset switch could be faulty??.. >:( >:(

Any thoughts??.

Kind Regards,

Jason

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2014, 06:54:45 PM »
Hi All,

     I'm in the process of refurbishing a DC25 Animal, the problem I have is that I have replaced all the components in the brush bar housing and the 2 main control switches. But, I still can't get the brush bar working!.. :'( :'(

I've tried pressing the brush bar rest switch, with no effect. I'm guessing the reset switch could be faulty??.. >:( >:(

Any thoughts??.

Kind Regards,

Jason

Have you checked the problem covered in this thread - https://manchestervacs.co.uk/DysonForum/index.php/topic,960.msg3648/highlight,dc25+loom.html#msg3648

Offline spikey1509

  • Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2014, 07:03:37 PM »
Hi.

    Thanx for your reply, I've just checked the wiring loom and that's all fine. I know what you mean, I had a DC24 with the exact same problem earlier this year. I will continue on and try to trace the fault with the Brush Bar. :'( :'(

  Have you ever had a reset switch gone?.. I've tried replacing the power switch and the Brush Bar switch, they are both fine!..

  Any assistance you can give would be much appreciated. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

   Kind Regards,

   Jason

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2014, 07:18:28 PM »
Do you have a multimeter? If so, what ohm reading do you get across the two cleanerhead terminals with the head removed?

Or to frame the question differently, are you sure there is no power reaching the cleanerhead?

Offline spikey1509

  • Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2014, 03:31:05 PM »
Hi,

   I'm getting 1716 kOhms across the motor terminals with the head disconnected, is this where you mean?. Which cleanerhead terminals do you mean?.. I'm getting 240v on the loom that we mentioned in the earlier thread.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Jason

Online Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: gb
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2014, 10:53:47 PM »
Jason mate try this.
Plug the DC25 in but don't turn it on.

Press the brush bar switch twice.

Turn off at plug 'ole.

Turn on at plug 'ole

Turn said DC25 on

Press brush bar switch

Tilt back and it should work. This is a little known trick with DC25's. I may have the sequence slightly wrong mind as I haven't had to do this for a few months.
Please let us (the board) know how you get on.

If the trick didn't work, you're into some serious fault diagnosis pal!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2014, 04:55:37 PM »
Should be getting about 260Ω across the cleanerhead terminals (by which I mean take the cleaner head off, and test across the two feeds into it, on the cleanerhead itself).

About 70Ω across the terminals of the brushbar motor is about right.

If that seems alright, you are looking for 300v or so DC feed to the cleanerhead motor from the PCB.

Offline spikey1509

  • Member
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2014, 05:56:28 PM »
Hi,

  Thanx for the replies guys, I'm getting 10 mohms (decreasing) over the cleanerhead terminals and 1716 kohms across the motor terminals. I haven't tried the DC25 trick by switch off at the mains and tilting, I'll do that in a minute.

  I have ordered a new reset switch because it doesn't seem to click when I press it, it just seems to have one position. I'll continue with the testing process.

   Regards,

   Jason

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 BRUSH BAR
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2014, 09:12:40 PM »
You said that you had voltage to the cleanerhead?

If so, the fault is in the cleanerhead. There is only the motor or PCB. If the PCB has 300ish v DC coming out of the other side of it, then it works. If it hasn't, its duff. 

That only leaves the brushroll motor - which is the usual suspect.


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram