The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC 25 All Floors  (Read 1656 times)

Offline rugbug

  • Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: scotland
DC 25 All Floors
« on: May 01, 2014, 09:46:54 PM »
Having had to replace the reset switch in this machine and finding out that other owners have had this problem i intend to measure the current drawn when the machine is in operation upright & lowered the reset switch is rated at 1.25 Amps or 1250 mA. and i suspect it could be underrated perhaps a 1.5 Amp one should have been fitted?

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 10:23:28 PM »
Aren't they all 1.25A?



When the DC25 was launched, it was about that time - in the opinion of some - that built in expiry was planned.

Offline rugbug

  • Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2014, 11:15:46 PM »
I didn't know there was more than one reset switch fitted in this machine?

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2014, 11:37:50 PM »
American models have a differing one.



But I am assuming that Scottish flag means you are in the UK, so which one are you looking at, this one?



Set up is like so.



Red and black body are the same switch - only colour differs.

Offline rugbug

  • Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2014, 12:02:16 AM »
American models have a differing one.



But I am assuming that Scottish flag means you are in the UK, so which one are you looking at, this one?



Set up is like so.

(Attachment Link)

Red and black body are the same switch - only colour differs.

That flag is Scottish and you assume correctly it is in the UK, must say i'm extremely surprised you were unsure!

The reset SW is in series with the live wiring monitoring the current drawn from the two motors if excess current is drawn the reset will go open cct but by simply pressing the red button the bi-metal contact will audibly be heard resetting.

Should a fault be present the switch will open once more, as i said in my post the sw was rated @ 1.25 Ampere so that was the one i have. You say they are the same SW... not sure i understand their are 2 switches in your picture it is the red button SW that monitors current

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2014, 01:39:04 AM »
That flag is Scottish and you assume correctly it is in the UK, must say i'm extremely surprised you were unsure!

No, I wasn't unsure that Scotland is in the UK.  :chuckle:

On forums, Americans have a habit of using Scottish and Irish flags (strange but true). They once had a relative that allegedly came from there 100 years ago - despite being in Wisconsin, their heart is in Golspie where they never went. You get the idea.....

We hope that after the big vote, that you guys will still be part of the Union.

Anyway, back to your switches.......

Offline rugbug

  • Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: scotland
Re: DC 25 All Floors
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2014, 02:19:21 PM »
Thanks Cousin McVac lang may yer lum reek :underchair:


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram