The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting  (Read 5668 times)

Offline TestSubject

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« on: May 21, 2014, 11:55:21 PM »
Hello,

As a student interested in electronics I have picked up a non working Airblade AB03, plug it in, insert hands, nothing happens.

Took the cover off, started probing the PCB, at first glance, the power regulators work fine, the sensor output some kind of waveform on the oscilloscope, the ribbon cable to the motor assembly is carrying some king of signal too with some delays after inserting hands it seems .

So because I saw nothing obvious, I went looking for a problem on the motor assembly but turns out to be harder to access then I thought.

So before I go any further, any one of you have experience with the general troubleshooting of the AB03? What I should be looking for etc?

I am planning on updating the thread as I go with pictures and oscilloscope reading if needed.

Thank you in advance.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2014, 05:00:54 PM »
The first place you want to be looking is the sensors and receivers. Check the back ones are seated properly. If they come adrift, they don't work.

Dont break the back lenses, they are not yet available on their own.

Offline TestSubject

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 07:03:50 PM »
So, I have checked the sensor/emitter, they seem to be in place so no luck there.

I found that:

White wire is Ground
Red is 3.2V
Yellow is probably sense pin of the sensor.

I started probing around, I find very noisy ground for the, what I presume, is the InfraRed LED. So noisy my multimeter shows 3.2 level in both pins.

The sensor has 3 pins, the yellow one, I think is the sense pin. No matter what show 3.2Volts.

This is very confusing, never seen anything like it before. The Oscilloscope doesnt even show anything happening AC...

Basically, what do I need to check to make sure the board works fine? Ounce I know that I can look at the Electric motor assembly.



Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 08:25:11 PM »
Dyson don't release wiring info for these. They are pretty secretive about Airblade stuff.

All we do when we suspect a board is try another one in it. I realise that isn't an option unless you happen to have some handy, so probably not that helpful.

Does the motor have feeds to it from the board?

Offline TestSubject

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2014, 07:07:32 PM »
Ah thats too bad!

If you mean is the motor assembly plugged in, yes. I will do some probing to see if anything is going on.

Do you know of any way I could test the motor? Anything more you can tell me about how the PCB is supposed to output? I am really confused on how to go on with this.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2014, 07:57:57 PM »
Also, if you open the motor casing, you will find another two PCB's in there.



You can sometimes see damage on the larger one. But we have found even changing those doesn't bring the motor back to life.

We tend to repair these in a very un-technical way if they are dead: We plug another set of sensors in the board to make sure it is not those first, then we try another PCB, and if that doesn't work it is the motor bucket assembly. Doing it that way is time efficient and removes the need to test anything in depth.

However, in an environment where you only have one machine to fault find on, I guess you need to be looking for a signal going down one of the ribbon wires from the board to tell the motor to fire when the sensors are activated. If you have that, the problem will be in the bucket assembly rather than the PCB I guess.

I am sorry I cant be more helpful, but any readings or info you can provide will be of great use to others.


Offline Angus Black

  • Member
  • Posts: 150
  • Country: scotland
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Medic
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2014, 09:13:58 PM »
Do you know of any way I could test the motor?

Check the PCB in the motor bucket assembly for damage. More on that here: Dyson Airblade Motors: Troubleshooting & Faults.

Offline Atauce

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
  • Gender: Male
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2015, 10:03:26 AM »
Hello,
Could you please give us the component D33ís reference or part number, which is on the 11943-01-01 Dyson AB03 cardís back because mine is not readable ?
 :bow:


Online MV Claire

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Female
    • Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2015, 03:26:26 PM »
Hello,
Could you please give us the component D33’s reference or part number, which is on the 11943-01-01 Dyson AB03 card’s back because mine is not readable ?
 :bow:

We just looked at one for you, but ours seems chipped so cannot be read properly. However, it looks to be the similar to D29/D31 but they differ - one is A6W and the other is L4W.

Have you identified that chip as a problem that would stop it working?

Offline Atauce

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
  • Gender: Male
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2015, 05:10:46 PM »
yes,
I have two Airblades and on both of them the D33 is Off. To make us clearly understood, the type of housing does not give the component reference but the real registering. for example
the "L4W" is a Schottky diode (ref: http://www.s-manuals.com/smd/l4) and the "A6W" is a diode (http://www.nxp.com/ Documents / data_sheet / BAS16_SER.pdf)

if it is neither readable it may be that it is out of order.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2015, 10:25:02 PM »
I can look at another next week, but am away in France for a day or two till then.

Offline Atauce

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
  • Gender: Male
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2015, 12:24:52 PM »
thank you !

Offline Atauce

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
  • Gender: Male
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2015, 01:39:36 PM »
I can look at another next week, but am away in France for a day or two till then.

then,
Have you news for me ?

Online MV Claire

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Female
    • Dyson Specialists
Re: Airblade AB03 troubleshooting
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2015, 04:50:41 PM »
We opened the two we had that didn't work and the same chips were damaged on both.

 

Dyson Spare Parts

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice†††Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram