The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head  (Read 2599 times)

Offline misterroy

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« on: August 06, 2014, 09:47:49 PM »
I have just taken the head off and applied 240 volts to the two terminals, there was no movement. Should the brush have rotated?
thanks

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2014, 12:05:17 AM »
I have just taken the head off and applied 240 volts to the two terminals, there was no movement. Should the brush have rotated?
thanks

Yes.

The next task is to see if you have a circa 300v DC reading coming from the PCB towards the brushbar motor. If you do, you need a brushbar motor. If you don't, put a DC feed to the motor and see if it spins. If it does, you need a PCB.

Or a new head - if you prefer - solves both.

Offline misterroy

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2014, 12:26:56 AM »
would 12 dc be enough to move the motor?

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2014, 12:59:13 AM »
would 12 dc be enough to move the motor?

Not at all. You want over 200.

Offline brett83

  • Member
  • Posts: 62
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2014, 11:51:34 PM »
Hi,

I'm trying to fault find one of these.  The old motor did not work when I applied a DC voltage.  There was 240AC coming out the terminals of the Dyson with the Head removed, so all switches are working.

I have a new motor which I've just fitted and it still didnt work.  I removed the new motor again and tested with a DC voltage, it began to spin slowly, so new motor is OK.

It look like the PCB, but I can't see any obvious faults with the PCB.  The motor is 24DC isn't it?

If I connect the head so I can access the brush bar motor terminals, I should get 24DC at the PCB output terminals ?

Is that correct ?

Thanks
Brett

Offline brett83

  • Member
  • Posts: 62
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2014, 12:38:57 AM »
Ive just done this test.

Motor works, switches all work.  Connected multimeter to the spade terminals of the PCB which connect to the motor and there is zero output, absolutely diddly squat. from the above, i suspect i should have 300V DC if the PCB is working correctly.

Thanks
Brett

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4795
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2014, 10:25:46 AM »
i suspect i should have 300V DC if the PCB is working correctly.

Yes.

We have new PCB's, which have just come down in price as it goes: DC25 Cleanerhead PCB Printed Circuit Board Assembly

Offline brett83

  • Member
  • Posts: 62
Re: dc25 - applied 240 volts to head
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2014, 09:12:19 PM »
Thank you,

I found a spare amongst my stock, but that is a good price.  I'll be back should I need another one. ;)

Thanks


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram