The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: dc15 no power  (Read 1823 times)

Offline lanarkshire dyson repairs

  • Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
dc15 no power
« on: December 13, 2014, 07:20:14 PM »
First one of these ive had. Can anyone shed any light. The main motor is not running and the brushbar is only coming on intermittently. Got voltage at swithes and switching normally and voltage to board.
Nuetral is ok also.
It looks to me like the main motor has gone but I cant explain the brushbar nit working property
Never underestimate the ingenuity of the dobber !

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 471
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: dc15 no power
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2014, 08:33:53 PM »
First one of these ive had. Can anyone shed any light. The main motor is not running and the brushbar is only coming on intermittently. Got voltage at swithes and switching normally and voltage to board.
Nuetral is ok also.
It looks to me like the main motor has gone but I cant explain the brushbar nit working property

The yoke loom is the usual culprit for intermittent brushbar motor!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4782
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc15 no power
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2014, 12:08:17 PM »
What Russ said.

For the main motor, better to strip it and take a look. There is a topic on that >>here<<.

Offline lanarkshire dyson repairs

  • Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: dc15 no power
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2014, 12:25:21 PM »
Yes main motor gone. Ive now got brush running but parts stupidly expensive and they now dont want it sorted.  So ive aquired myself a mint condition dc15 needing a motor.
Never underestimate the ingenuity of the dobber !

Offline MV Claire

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 362
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Female
    • Dyson Specialists
Re: dc15 no power
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2014, 05:41:19 PM »
We tend to break DC15's we get for spares now as they are time consuming and expensive to fix as you say.

Offline lanarkshire dyson repairs

  • Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: dc15 no power
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2014, 05:57:03 PM »
Ill just keep it until another falls into my hands.  Dc14 still the bread and butter
Never underestimate the ingenuity of the dobber !


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram