The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?  (Read 3304 times)

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« on: May 04, 2015, 04:54:16 PM »
The brushbar motor has ceased to work on my DC25 this morning (that'll teach me to vacuum on a Bank Holiday). It snagged on a shoelace (not badly). I stopped it, removed the lace and restarted it but now the brushroll won't turn. Reset switch does nothing.
I fitted a new reset switch about 3 months ago, so unlikely to be this? So, is it most likely to be: yoke loom assembly, PCB, or the brushroll motor itself?
Given when/how it failed, is the motor the likely suspect? It's the original motor, though it has been stripped and cleaned.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 05:35:11 PM »
Do you have a multimeter?

Establish that you have power coming from the machine to the cleaner head first. Take off the head and test the two pins with the machine on and reclined.

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2015, 06:09:05 PM »
OK. Will check.  If no voltage there,  it's the reset switch or yoke loom then?

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2015, 06:10:47 PM »
What power should I get there? 240V AC?

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2015, 06:15:21 PM »
Yes and yes.

If 220-240v AC voltage outputting from the machine, it is the brushroll motor or the PCB.

The next test in that case would be to test the resistance of the motor and/or rig it up so power is going to the PCB and see if the PCB has a circa 330v DC output towards the motor.

For the benefit of passing readers who are not confident/skilled enough to strip the cleaner head down, its worth mentioning that if the machine is outputting 220-240 v AC towards the cleaner head, the easy fix is to replace the whole cleaner head.


Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2015, 10:22:12 AM »
Thanks, I'm away for a couple of days but will test on my return and post the results. Just out of interest, what numbers should a resistance test on the motor give if it's working?

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2015, 11:41:31 AM »
OK, I have now tested and there is no AC voltage at the cleaner head pins, with machine on and reclined. There is no visible break in the yoke loom wiring, so I'm suspecting the reset switch (even though it was recently replaced). Is there any way to test which is faulty,  or do I just buy another reset switch and change it and see?

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2700
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2015, 04:03:37 PM »
Have you checked the recline switch?

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2015, 04:12:28 PM »
Yes, that appears to be operating fine, unless it is faulty internally.

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2700
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2015, 04:16:57 PM »
Is there a voltage coming out of it when reclined? Is there a voltage going to it?

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2015, 05:34:16 PM »
I have only tested the voltage at the cleaner head pins-which is zero.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2015, 05:55:35 PM »
There is no visible break in the yoke loom wiring, so I'm suspecting the reset switch (even though it was recently replaced).

It need not be visible. Take it off and test continuity.

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2015, 05:58:24 PM »
Will do. I've ordered one of each anyway as both will be needed eventually.

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC25 Brushbar Stopped-which part to change?
« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2015, 02:09:32 PM »
Update: it was the reset switch. Hopefully it will last longer then the previous one.


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram