The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin  (Read 2700 times)

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« on: January 07, 2016, 03:30:58 AM »
Hey everyone, first time here and very happy I found you guys!

I have replaced the brush roll and it's switch, because the BR was worn out and the switch would not depress.

I've checked all the wires between pcb and handle release switch, none have been pulled out and none appear to be damaged.

Hooking the brushroll motor up directly  makes it turn on... but even when I have bridged the wires that hook on to the handle release sensor, with the brush roll switch on, the darn motor still doesn't turn on. I'm thinking it's a problem with the PCB...
ila_rendered


Anybody have any clue how to use a multimeter to find where the bad part is? this is the multimeter I have and I do not understand it at all.

ila_rendered

I would prefer not to order the PCB before I know it is defective. Thank you so much in advance for ANY help finding my problem here.
Hoping to hear from you guys soon! Stay safe out there.

Patrick Harrower

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2016, 11:01:30 AM »
This loom is the usual suspect.

Online beko1987

  • Member
  • Posts: 3712
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Let's take it apart!
    • My blog
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2016, 12:56:04 PM »
Tech12 will be along shortly to help you with the multimeter (I think it's the setting directly above the ON writing for the switch, the continuity, but yours may not have a buzzer.

Deffo the loom though, I have a few in the shed as most of the DC15 issues I get are the loom. repairing it is a fiddly, horrible job too that really isnt worth it.

Were you to have spme spare bits of wire and some crimps, you could make temporary new cables up to double check by firing the motor up on the brushroll though. You will need to take the brushroll housing apart though (to change the loom anyway). My how to guide covers that, I'm sure Mvacs have a how to as well to fit the loom
Collector and restorer of vintage vacuums, Dyson Appreciator! Come and see my blog, where I am uploading all my mountains of brochures, manuals and other vacuum cleaner paperwork, and also my youtube channel @beko1987!

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2016, 01:03:26 AM »
I bridged the circuit board directly to the head from the b/r switch terminals and it still wouldn't turn on. (it's not THOSE wires.)

After that I replaced the circuit board, the height adjustment sensor switch that controls the brushroller, and the brushroll on/off switch.

 :'(

So now I'm just sitting here a broken continuity tester ( grabbing on tonight..) and a multimeter wondering which wires to poke on what setting... while the machine's plugged on, with it's handle back. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thank you everyone for reading and Mr. @beko1987 for his response. I'm aware you guys run 220 and I'm 120 but I believe checking continuity and voltage of wires is a universal concept.

Might I inquire as to Tech12's whereabouts?

Online beko1987

  • Member
  • Posts: 3712
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Let's take it apart!
    • My blog
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2016, 08:31:51 AM »
That's a good point, where is tech?
Collector and restorer of vintage vacuums, Dyson Appreciator! Come and see my blog, where I am uploading all my mountains of brochures, manuals and other vacuum cleaner paperwork, and also my youtube channel @beko1987!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2016, 10:47:49 AM »
I bridged the circuit board directly to the head from the b/r switch terminals and it still wouldn't turn on.

If you bridged it from the brushroll switch to the brushroll motor bypassing the PCB, you sent AC to a DC motor.

Set your meter to DCV 1000 and check the output from the PCB and the reading at the motor. Start there.

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2016, 09:04:25 AM »
Oh goodness! Luckily no electricity is coming out of those terminals. I obtained some multimeter advice. Before it went out, when it was working, i would get no ohms on the brushroller on off switch operated by the user... when I was getting a reading off the power switch. this thing is a nightmare, the switch was bad anf would not stay depressed anymore, it's handle release sensor was broken, i had to replace the roller and br cap... but I am determined to fix this thing, failure is not an option.

Edit : When I hooked up the br motor with alligator clips to ac power it. turns on just fine still, so it definitely is not the problem. The DC15 motor is the only ball vacuum with this type of motor.. Im going to pop the top tomorrow and read the print on it. Would the motor not turn on and run repestedly on ac if it wasnt ac??

So anything connected to a circuitboard on other dysons is dc? I thought I blew a different motor out because it was low voltage... I had no idea!

Sidenote : talking about ac and dc so much has me curious where the dc prefix came from.

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2016, 04:09:42 AM »
ila_rendered

my new multimeter! this one makes a noise when I have connectivity.

Does anyone have any input on where I might be able to test connections to find which part I need to replace?

The main motor and brushroll motor were already in the machine and working well, and I've replaced the BR on/off switch and the handle release sensor. Not really sure where to go from here. There is no connectivity at the point of the BR switch at the top.

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2016, 02:01:50 AM »
Ok. So, the problem is (1) the yellow wire, where it goes into (2) the place where it connects to the yolk wiring harness.
I was able to identify the problem by gently pulling on the wire where it went into the gromet at point 2, where it easily detached.

ila_rendered

It's manufacturer's part number is 907280-02 and is referred to as the "PCB to yoke loom"
I'm ordering the part right now, but have never replaced it before.
Has anyone pulled out that piece of rubber with those wires running through it before?
If anyone has advice which might reduce the chance of harming this machine I would greatly appreciate you sharing your experience.

Will take pictures of the repair and post them accordingly.

@MVACS the brushroll motor for this particular machine runs on AC current, of this I am 100% certain. It's serial number is 190-US- B 1479

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2016, 11:42:09 AM »
Ok. So, the problem is (1) the yellow wire, where it goes into (2) the place where it connects to the yolk wiring harness.
I was able to identify the problem by gently pulling on the wire where it went into the gromet at point 2, where it easily detached.

(Attachment Link)

It's manufacturer's part number is 907280-02 and is referred to as the "PCB to yoke loom"

This loom is the usual suspect.

 8)

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2016, 01:38:55 AM »
yup! you sure did call it.

I had to be careful between where the brush head connects to the loom and the circuitboard, when I put the machine back together the first time I managed to damage the loom a bit.
ila_rendered
Getting the loom's gromet into position was probably the hardest fix of the entire machine. I wrapped some duct tape around a flathead screwdriver, held the machine down, and pressed up with the tool as hard as I could without breaking the machine. Even when popped in properly, it still popped out a couple times so I wound up gorilla gluing it in. That will be fun to get out if it comes back in!  :snivel:
ila_rendered
After a bit of contemplation, I went with this wire tuck. I'm confident the loom will not be pinched with this configuration.
ila_rendered
and here's the finished product! thanks for tuning in and helping out.
ila_rendered

Offline theheadschoice

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: My Dyson DC15 Brushroller Will Not Spin
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2016, 01:51:35 AM »
ooops. didn't mean to post this one.


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram