The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?  (Read 359 times)

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« on: July 06, 2017, 12:56:05 PM »
Got one of the older DC41 with a broken cyclone catch. Need to replace it. No problem, but they changed the design from the early ones. The top part of the catch is easy as to do. Now how do I replace the bottom one?

Looks like I need to take the top of the cyclone, so I can slide the bottom catch out. Is this correct and if so, how does it come off?

Parts in question I'm trying to install are these https://manchestervacs.co.uk/Dyson/image/cache/data/DC41/DC41-cyclone-release-clip%20(3)-500x500.jpg

Thanks




Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2017, 09:02:52 PM »
When you have done it a few times there is a way of manipulating the bottom catch out without splitting the cyclone. The problem arises when you're trying to refit the spring in the correct position on refitting. It is very fiddly and takes a lot of practice.

If this is the first one you've done, the best method indeed is to split the Cyclone. This is done with a T15 screwdriver, I recall. The trickiest part of refitting is getting the spring tension assembled correctly so the bottom clip holds into position.

If you're struggling I am happy to do a tutorial on this because it is a question that we are asked. However, if you need it, it will probably take me quite a few days to be able to do it as we are so busy at the moment.

If anybody else can chip in with some handy tips on this one it would be most appreciated.

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2017, 03:15:55 AM »
Thanks for the reply. I have the parts already from you but can wait if you wanted to make a video. I'm in no rush and don't want to break the cyclone unit so it's not usable. Pretty sure a video will be helpful for me and many others!

I do have a T15 screwdriver so that won't be an issue. Looking at how the top part of the cyclone unit comes apart, are these screws the inside once the bottom is unclipped? I can't see any outside screws. I can unclick the lower piece, and I assume screws will be under there? I did start to unclip this piece either and screen all the springs on strange angles. I stopped as I thought this might be tricky to put back together and I wanted to use the vacuum before I temporary render is unusable for a while, until I get those springs back in ;)



Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2017, 01:07:48 AM »
We'll do our best to make a video/tutorial in the next week, Andrew. A few folks are away on holiday from our place this week, so we are a tad short staffed.

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2017, 02:38:39 AM »
No worries, I'm just manually opening the bin as needed until I can replace the bottom part of the catch. The top part is installed and working well :)

I'm happy to have a go at splitting the cyclone without a video. I assume it's going to be something like

- unclip the bottom half of the cycle
- undo the screws?
- remove the top cycle cap
- fit new part
- put it back together.

I guess, I just wanted to know if there is a point that the cyclone will explode into 1000 pieces, never to go back together again or its all pretty safe?

Thanks for the update though!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2017, 11:19:52 AM »
Broadly, yes, the biggest problem is getting the spring in the correct position on re-assembly.

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2017, 07:36:17 AM »
OK, so I went ahead and did the bottom catch replacement today, didn't go as I thought, but nothing ever does!  :snivel:

So unclipped the bottom half without too many issues. Take note of the spring locations as you do this.

From here, I could see the screws deep in the top, but didn't have a long enough driver bit to get to them. All my extension bars had been too fat, with the screw heads next to the mini cyclones, it just wasn't going to work.

So then remembered you did it without taking the top off. So had a bit of a look, and got the old catch out.

For those playing along at home, split the cyclone, then remove the spring on the catch, the catch will then with a bit of gentle force 'pop' out sideways. Put the new one in, by threading the top through the hole and then gently pushing the bottom in. Again it should 'pop' in sideways without much trouble.

Make sure the spring is installed and catching at the top, as its needed to 'push' the catch out.

The HARDEST part was yep, getting the springs all lined up. Its a three handed job. I got an extra set of hands to hold the catch spring with half a clockwise turn on it needed to push out the catch. They then held this with some pliers.

I then got the grey catch spring in location, once all lined up. clipped it back together, removing the pliers at the last min so the spring still had the twist tension on it.

All good the bottom catch has tension, so it is pushed away from the unit so it lines up with the bottom bin parts, the grey catch is working. No broken plastic bits etc. So win win!

Now would I remember this method if you have the older catch like I do and needed to replace both parts? Maybe not. For me in Australia, it cost $20AUD for the catch shipped, but I did notice Dyson sells the cyclone for $80AUD shipped. So unless you're great with pulling these things apart, for the Aussies just buy a new cyclone.

I did notice in the UK the price is a bit different, $5 vs $55 pounds, so clearly YMMV and of course I'm sure if you dropped into the lovely people at Manchester Vacs, they would do it all for you!

$5 pound option - https://shop.manchestervacs.co.uk/dyson-upright-vacuum-cleaner-spares/dc41-spare-parts/dc41-cyclone-release-clips

$55 pound option - http://www.dyson.co.uk/spares/c/cyclone-assembly/cyclone-assembly-dc41-satin-blue.aspx?pid=DC41-Animal

If you do the go it yourself route, maybe think about one of these https://shop.manchestervacs.co.uk/dyson-cylinder-vacuum-cleaner-spares/dc26-spare-parts/dyson-type-t15-screwdriver

Again, thanks for the advice and thanks for supply the part MVacs. All happy now, that the old DC41 is back to working again!

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2017, 08:50:37 PM »
Excellent write up, Andrew.  :tiphat:

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2017, 03:06:53 AM »
Thanks MVacs... other than the few typos I just spotted, but I can't edit. Oh well, hopefully, it helps someone else in the future!

Offline tbpsmith

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2017, 05:41:17 PM »
Thank to Andrew and MVacs for all your information.
tbpsmith ;)

Offline Kazza

  • Member
  • Posts: 1
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #10 on: July 23, 2017, 05:01:24 PM »
Hi - Manchester Vacs - can you possibly do a tutorial - I bought the part from you but can't change it and can't follow the instructions on this forum because just can't visualise it - I.e. Which parts are being referred to - top, bottom, etc.  vaccuum useless at the minute - kind regards

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2017, 06:29:52 PM »
Hi - Manchester Vacs - can you possibly do a tutorial - I bought the part from you but can't change it and can't follow the instructions on this forum because just can't visualise it - I.e. Which parts are being referred to - top, bottom, etc.  vaccuum useless at the minute - kind regards

I'll do my best to do one this week.

Offline AndrewP

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: Replacing the Dyson DC41 Cyclone catch?
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2017, 03:07:28 AM »
can't follow the instructions on this forum because just can't visualise it

As per this picture, the top catch is on the right, bottom catch is on the left -



If you look at the cyclone, the top red catch is at the top, and the bottom part of the catch is under this.

As for splitting the cyclone, basically this:

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nNMsHDyEHI" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nNMsHDyEHI</a>

But it's for the DC40. Note the tension on the bottom catch part. You need to ensure the spring has a turn on it like I said above for this to happen when you put it back together.

Also note the bottom catch on the DC41 doesn't come out like the DC40 does, its slightly different.

And this is how you put it back together again, this is for the DC41

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRzYlMx7UT0" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRzYlMx7UT0</a>



Dyson Spare Parts


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram