The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC14 wont switch on  (Read 810 times)

Offline syedsoh

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
DC14 wont switch on
« on: October 20, 2017, 06:59:06 PM »
I have an old DC14 that wont start. Not sure whether it is a simple switch malfunction or the motor has gone. Is there a simple way to check. BTW I did check the fuse on the plug.

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2848
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2017, 07:13:45 PM »
Most likely the cable has snapped where it enters the machine, do you have a test meter?

Offline syedsoh

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2017, 05:00:01 PM »
Thanks for your reply and help.
Yes - I have a multi meter but may need some guidance on how to use it.
Do you mean the mains cable where it enters into the Dyson?

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2848
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2017, 09:12:40 PM »
yes the mains cable. Remove the switch and disconnect the mains lead, set meter to continuity if you have it or if not to resistance. test each colour to see if you have a brake. Also test the switch. if everything is OK you need to check the cable that goes down to the motor in the same way, if that's OK then it is the motor.

Online Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: gb
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2017, 02:23:28 PM »
Hello mate.
I think Madrat could be right.
Remove wand/hose and you'll find 2 15TX screws. Remove them and give the top 2 plastic lugs a small tap. This will remove the switch housing.
Do a "con check" from plug to switch. If OK, put the switch in the "on" position and do another con check across the switch.
Up to this point, if everything is fine, it's highly unlikely it's the cable between the switch and the motor.
You'll have to strip the machine to get to the motor so you might as well con check said cable just in case.

I'm sure there will be a motor change thread on here to change a DC14 motor. If not, there is very little difference to a DC07 motor change.

If it comes to a motor change, DO NOT buy a cheap and nasty motor off ebay, they are sheeiitee!

I'd say try to find an MTR240 motor in Aus. If not, hope that MVACS has some left and can send you one. If not, spend the dosh and get an original Dyson one. DC14's and DC07's are the ones Dyson got right and are worth keeping going!
DC33's were alright but I hated the plastic wand.

Oh, by the way, Good Morning!

Howard.

Online Sleaford White

  • Member
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: gb
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2017, 02:36:07 PM »
Sorry me hearty
I thought I was replying to some bloke from Australia  :'(

Offline syedsoh

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2017, 03:03:49 PM »
Thanks Howard

Really appreciate your help.  ;)

Online Madrat

  • Member
  • Posts: 2848
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2017, 03:56:56 PM »
MTR240 no longer available, has to be MTR299, kenley or other Chinese copy, unless you go for genuine Dyson motor 😅😡

Offline Parwaz7862

  • Member
  • Posts: 3272
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Dyson geek 😃
Re: DC14 wont switch on
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2017, 05:14:39 PM »
Is it me being naive or have I seen 35 genuine Dyson motor brand new at some point in the past?

YV2200 I think
DC14s are tanks, just need a slightly longer motor life. Do plastic parts often break on DC14s? Nope. DC41- Sexy looking futuristic and powerful machine. Just needs a better designed cleaner head wheel and cyclone clip along with a dense metal rod in the chassis.

DC14 Spare Parts


 

Dyson Spare Parts

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

Dyson Spares, Parts, AdviceFollow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram