The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40  (Read 291 times)

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« on: June 28, 2021, 07:29:03 PM »
Hi Guys

I have a DYSON DC 40 (UK) , the brushes are not turning, does anyone know what the voltage feed  is for the Brush Roller motor ?, or what the motor resistance would be !.

cheers
Spike

Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5935
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2021, 12:53:41 PM »
Around 320-330vDC is usual.

If you have 7v as mentioned on the other topic, you need to be looking at the PCB or the loom before it that breaks.

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2021, 02:37:52 PM »
Thanks for that,

ps: just figuring, that seems a strange voltage !.

cheers
Spike

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2021, 02:40:58 PM »
Has anyone had a problem with the upright micro switch ?.

cheers
Spike

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2021, 03:44:02 PM »
Thanks for that,

ps: just figuring, that seems a strange voltage !.

cheers
Spike

Hi
Just found the fault, one of the cables going to the head motor feed socket has broken, now there is enough cable for me to solder a piece in and shrink wrap it, now the question will be what is the easiest way to just get at the bottome of the feed socket ?.

cheers
Spike

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2021, 03:44:33 PM »
pic 2

Offline macman

  • Member
  • Posts: 255
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2021, 04:21:27 PM »
That's yoke loom failure, which afflicts almost every DC40 eventually. Don't splice a piece of cable in, it will fail again soon after. Buy a new yoke loom, which is about a tenner (Man Vacs have them). They redesigned it slightly and the new ones seem to be OK.
The stripdown on the stickies explains how to gain access: once you've done your first one, it's quite easy.

Offline Spike47

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2021, 04:35:50 PM »
Thanks for that.
Spike

Offline MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5935
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2021, 08:26:05 PM »
If that's the loom I mentioned, better to change the small loom as a repair only lasts a few weeks due to how it flexes.

Be aware, ERP and non ERP differ.

In terms of strip down, there is a sticky on it.

Offline o_ptic

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
Re: DYSON Brush Roller motor DC40
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2021, 11:23:08 PM »
the new yoke harness is silicone cable so highly flexible

Dyson Spare Parts


 

 

Trade Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Freestanding Dyson Cordless Vacuum Stand

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

Buy a police truncheon

 

 

Instagram

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacs on Instagram