The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC15 Brushbar not operating  (Read 5516 times)

Offline paclx

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
DC15 Brushbar not operating
« on: January 02, 2013, 07:01:18 AM »
I have a DC15 and the brush bar motor isn't working. The fuse (F1) on the PCB has blown. I have disconnected the brushbar motor, the white (switch) wires and the yellow/orange (motor) wires on the PCB and replaced the fuse. but it still blows when the power swith is turned on. The main motor is operating. Is this a faulty PCB?

Offline premierdysonrepairs

  • Member
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: scotland
  • Gender: Male
  • Repairs, service and reconditioning of Dyson Vac's
Re: DC15 Brushbar not operating
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 11:43:57 AM »
Would think that there is a fault in the on/off switch or a short in the motor, the p.c.b alone would not take the fuse out.
If @ first you dont succeed "scrap it"

Offline paclx

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: DC15 Brushbar not operating
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 12:01:22 PM »
Thanks for the reply. I have tested with the motor leads disconnested from the PCD to eliminate/isolate the possibility of a motor fault, but the fuse still blows. The switch by the handle for the seems to be momentary and not latching. Is this correct? I have actually dimantled both the power on/off and brushbar switches, and they don't appear to have the same mechanism inside.

Offline premierdysonrepairs

  • Member
  • Posts: 229
  • Country: scotland
  • Gender: Male
  • Repairs, service and reconditioning of Dyson Vac's
Re: DC15 Brushbar not operating
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 12:11:03 PM »
Not sure if i followed you correctly, are you saying the fuse blows with the motor disconnected?
The switches are prone to falling apart inside causing a short also if any of the circuit wiring is rubing it could cause a short.
If @ first you dont succeed "scrap it"

Offline paclx

  • Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: DC15 Brushbar not operating
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2013, 12:47:03 PM »
Correct. Brushbar motor and switch wires at the bottom of the PCB are disconnected. I've tried a new fuse, and it blows when I switch on the power. Main motor keeps working fine though. The only wires still connected are coming from the switches on the handle, red, brown and blue.

I have just tried disconnecting the brushbar switch (brown and red wires), fuse still blows. Now running out of fuses :(

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4647
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC15 Brushbar not operating
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2013, 02:13:27 PM »
Last time we had one of those blowing fuses a new PCB fixed it.


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram