The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose  (Read 7076 times)

Offline savechief

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« on: March 22, 2013, 12:41:22 AM »
I have a DC14 Low Reach, and can no longer get the dust bin assembly to fit tightly into the vacuum.  The problem seemed at first to be at the Cyclone release catch (http://www.vacuum-direct.com/dyson-dc14-dc15-cyclone-release-catch.aspx) because a portion of the plastic catch was broken off.  I replaced the part but it didn't solve the problem.  The bottom of the dust bin seems to seat just fine, I just can't get the top to "click" and lock the bin into place.  The way it is now, the dust bin is loose, creating a significant gap at the entry seal into the bin.  Any ideas as to what the issue might be?

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 470
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2013, 01:22:44 AM »
I have a DC14 Low Reach, and can no longer get the dust bin assembly to fit tightly into the vacuum.  The problem seemed at first to be at the Cyclone release catch (http://www.vacuum-direct.com/dyson-dc14-dc15-cyclone-release-catch.aspx) because a portion of the plastic catch was broken off.  I replaced the part but it didn't solve the problem.  The bottom of the dust bin seems to seat just fine, I just can't get the top to "click" and lock the bin into place.  The way it is now, the dust bin is loose, creating a significant gap at the entry seal into the bin.  Any ideas as to what the issue might be?

There should be a spring located behind the release catch which is what helps lock the cyclone in with a click - was the spring present when you fitted the new catch?

Offline savechief

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2013, 01:51:56 AM »
I'm fairly certain the spring is there, but will double check when I get home.

Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 470
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2013, 11:40:52 AM »
I'm fairly certain the spring is there, but will double check when I get home.

The other possibility is the bit of plastic on the back of the cyclone handle that the catch clicks onto has snapped off.

If you sit the cyclone in position, then pull forward slightly and follow back to where the catch would locate on the back of the cyclone handle - is the bit of plastic that the catch latches onto present? Thinking about it, if you have a clear handle you might be able see straight through to where it attaches anyway.

If this is the problem you need a new cyclone top or just the handle part if you have a torx screwdriver to undo the two screws.

Offline savechief

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2013, 09:45:57 AM »
Does it look as if anything is missing/broken from the back of my cyclone bin?


Online __russ__

  • Member
  • Posts: 470
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Dyson Repairs Essex
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2013, 12:19:36 PM »
There should be a plastic lip - see arrow.

I can't see it on yours so I would say this is the problem.

A new cyclone top/handle will do the trick!

Offline savechief

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2013, 07:07:05 PM »
Great picture, thanks.  I see what I am potentially missing now.  Last question...do you know if that part is available separately, or am I looking at buying an entirely new cyclone bin assembly?   Thanks.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: DC14 - Dust bin assembly is loose
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2013, 01:21:29 AM »
Great picture, thanks.  I see what I am potentially missing now.  Last question...do you know if that part is available separately, or am I looking at buying an entirely new cyclone bin assembly?   Thanks.

Dyson don't sell them on their own, but we have a handful of them recycled. Give Claire at our shop an email at claire(at)manchestervacs(dot)co(dot)uk and link her to this topic. She will get you fixed up.

DC14 Spare Parts


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram