The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?  (Read 17903 times)

Offline Dyson Tech

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 307
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« on: June 04, 2013, 06:59:20 PM »
As the DC25 machines get older, we see more and more of them in for repair.

As time goes on, we start to see certain faults time and time again. This particular fault was very hard to find the first time we encountered it. Now it is one of the first things we check.

When the brushroll motor isn't working, we usually suspect the motor itself. But this isn't always the problem. Before committing yourself to a new cleanerhead or a replacement brushroll motor, check that you have power coming from the machine itself to the cleanerhead.

More and more we are finding we don't have power from the machine. Plugging the suspect cleanerhead onto another machine often confirms it works fine.

Most people usually start stripping the switch housing down at this point, but wait a moment before you do.....

Very often, the problem is this:



One or both of these wires tend to break up. Sometimes invisibly so inside the rubber. Test the feed to and from the micro switch to eliminate that, and confirm the diagnosis.

We are seeing this problem more and more, and we have had two this week alone!

We have tried to fix the wires on some, but that is fiddly and simply caused flexing right by the repair hastening the same thing happening again a month or so later (yeah, been there).

The proper fix is to replace the little loom itself. It comes like this:



And as we have started to use so many of them, today we put them on our shop.

You can find them here: >>DC25 Yoke Assembly Loom<<.

I hope this saves a few people the misery of stripping a machine down to the bare bones looking for a fault that is in fact a broken wire you often can't see.
Manchester Vacs Dyson and Sebo Engineer
We expect that by seeking advice here, you are competent enough to be able to make any electrical installations safely and in a safe and legal manner in your jurisdiction. If you are in any doubt whatsoever, do consult an electrician. You accept/implement any advice you read at this site at your own risk. Dyson and Sebo Spares and Service

Offline rugbug

  • Member
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: scotland
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 05:34:55 AM »
What one can do is simply crimp the o/c using a quality tool.

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2014, 12:30:03 AM »
Hi there

Hoping someone can offer some advice on this problem. I have replaced the cleaner head on my DC25 Animal, I also checked the Yoke Assembly loom & the wires were broken which I have also replaced. I've also tried the reset button inside the hose next to the brush bar switch. Still no power to the cleaner head...is there any other solutions to fix this?? Seemed to have ruled out the more common issues.

Many thanks,
Ben

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2014, 01:20:51 AM »
Hi there

Hoping someone can offer some advice on this problem. I have replaced the cleaner head on my DC25 Animal, I also checked the Yoke Assembly loom & the wires were broken which I have also replaced. I've also tried the reset button inside the hose next to the brush bar switch. Still no power to the cleaner head...is there any other solutions to fix this?? Seemed to have ruled out the more common issues.

Many thanks,
Ben

Do you have a multimeter?

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2014, 11:35:37 AM »
No I haven't got one but have just ordered online. Once it's here I'll post the readings. I take it that will then give me an idea of what the issue could be?

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2014, 12:45:05 AM »
No I haven't got one but have just ordered online. Once it's here I'll post the readings. I take it that will then give me an idea of what the issue could be?

Yes, you need to follow down the circuit and the problem is soon identifiable then.

We should probably have a cheap multimeter suitable for these in our shop actually. We could post what dial settings to use and what readings to expect in typical testing scenarios. I'm going to look into that.

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2014, 06:32:57 PM »
That'd be great thanks, my multimeter has just arrived so I'll wait to hear from you...

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2014, 12:01:34 AM »
That'd be great thanks, my multimeter has just arrived so I'll wait to hear from you...

With an assistant.......

Take off the cleaner head, find the two terminals that feed it in the block from the machine, check they have 220-240v AC coming through them. If in the US, that would be 110-120v. For this, the machine will need to be running and reclined, brushbar switch on.

If there is no juice there we look for something else.

As this is public, we should remind the reader that the metal test prongs on the meter may be live during any test, so dont touch them.

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2014, 10:59:20 PM »
Hi there

Sorry for the delay in responding, it's taken a while for me to find them time to look at my Dyson. I've just followed your instructions & it appears there is no power from the cleaner head terminal, reading was zero. What next?!

Many thanks :)
Ben

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2014, 01:45:15 AM »
You probably want one of these.

Check that supply loom for breakages.

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2014, 09:22:13 AM »
Yes already replaced that thanks to this thread - see my original message.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2014, 02:52:10 PM »
The next likely culprit is the reset switch by the power switch. One of these.

There is also a micro switch, but they very seldom go.

Offline Benh83

  • Member
  • Posts: 6
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2014, 12:24:58 AM »
Problem solved  :thumbsup: It was the reset switch - thanks so much for all your help, I now have a working Dyson  ;)

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4713
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2014, 11:30:20 AM »
Glad you got fixed up.  :tiphat:

Offline johnbuck

  • Member
  • Posts: 2
Re: No Power to the Cleaner Head on a DC25?
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2015, 07:36:57 PM »
I know this is an old thread but quick question if that's ok?

Same probem....brush roller motor not working; got a new cleaner head with new motor which still doesn't work!
With switches in the on position I have tested the switch terminals, including reset switch, which all show live.
At the yoke terminal where the cleaner head plugs in, only one of those terminals are live when switched on.
Should both terminals be live? If they should then I guess that I have a broken wire also.

Thanks for any help.


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram