The World's #1 Vacuum Cleaner Advice, Repair, Discussion & Information Forum

Author Topic: dc05 motor  (Read 2266 times)

Offline markcarl

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
dc05 motor
« on: July 06, 2013, 07:44:53 PM »
hi guys, i have stripped down my dc05 and find that i have the panasonic version motor, there was 2 wires going to this motor but now i want to put things back together i need to know which wire goes to which terminals as i forgot, i normally take pics , now i wish i had so if any one can help, brill

cheers david

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2013, 09:14:40 PM »
You have this motor?



Are the two circled spades not different sizes? I haven't got one in front of me so I cant check to be certain.



By the way, in case of need (or maybe for others) there is a DC05 motor swap guide here: http://dysonmedic.com/DC05%20Folder/DC05%20motor%20change.html

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2013, 09:16:13 PM »
If not, the motor will spin both ways - if you wire either/or. And it wants to spin clockwise ideally. So bench test it, and the configuration that spins it clockwise will put it back as it was.

Offline markcarl

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2013, 11:36:55 PM »
hi thanks for your input, yes thats the motor i have, 1 cable went to that wire thats circled furthest left and then the other 1 went on to like a spade thats attched to the motor, sorry for being so vague, its just just that i dont know which is the live or neutal and i think its got 2 fixing spades thats fixed on the motor and i dont know which 1 of these i attach it to....

i can take a pic and upload to see if that makes things easier

Offline markcarl

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2013, 11:44:53 PM »
the 2 white wires on the left have both got terminals where i could connect wires to if i wanted but i know that will be wrong cos i know i disconnected 1 from the hanging thing on the right

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2013, 07:33:18 PM »
Generally, the live will be the one with the most protection, so I would go live into the one on the wire and neutral to the spade on the motor.

I'll check with our chap tomorrow, but I am pretty confident about that.

Offline markcarl

  • Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #6 on: July 07, 2013, 11:10:06 PM »
ok thanks, can i put the neutral to either one of the spades as there are 2 on the motor

thanks

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2013, 01:12:58 PM »
ok thanks, can i put the neutral to either one of the spades as there are 2 on the motor

thanks

If they are next to each other, yes. One will be an extra spur that is used on Motorhead models.

Online MVacs

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4714
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Manchester Vacs -- The Independent Dyson Specialists
Re: dc05 motor
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2013, 06:00:26 PM »
Generally, the live will be the one with the most protection, so I would go live into the one on the wire and neutral to the spade on the motor.

I'll check with our chap tomorrow, but I am pretty confident about that.

Yes that is right.

Dyson Cylinder Spare Parts


 

 

Dyson Spare Parts

 

 

Sebo Vacuum Cleaners

 

 

Buy a Dyson DC04 Wand Handle

 

 

 

 

The Dyson Medic Blog

Dyson Spares, Parts, Advice   Follow us on Twitter

Manchester Vacson Google+

Manchester Vacs on Instagram